Skip to content

My first Boston Globe article

July 3, 2011

The subject of my first story: Small dairy farmers in India transport milk to a solar powered refrigeration system. Photo courtesy of Promethean Power Systems

I’ve made it back to Boston from the South Pacific and I’m excited to announce that I’m a correspondent for The Boston Globe! (If you’re waiting for an ending to the S. Pacific journey, there will be a few more belated posts on the Scientific American site to wrap things up so stay tuned!)

It was all very fortuitous. One day in April, I wrote to Beth Daley, the manager of the Boston Globe Green Blog, and asked if I could submit a post. She said of course, but that I should come into the office and try to get more regular paying gigs. I was surprised and thrilled at her willingness to take me on board.

As soon as I got back from the Cook Islands, Beth had set up an appointment with her editor Gideon Gil. Beth completely took me under her wing and suggested I pitch one of my story ideas that she thought sounded really promising. She also gave me lots of ideas of her own that she didn’t have time to write herself. Beth will be a Knight Fellow at Stanford this fall so we bonded over that too.

When I stepped into Gideon’s office, he was staring intently at his computer screen–they had just started using a new software system that was a bit of a headache. Gideon turned to me and smiled, wanting to know what I hoped to do for the Globe. Luckily he recognized my name, or at least, he’d remembered reading Clark Hoyt’s article about my Garbage Patch story in The New York Times. This gave me a sort of instant credibility.

When I pitched my story idea he thought it was definitely worth publishing. “How quickly can you turn around a story?” he asked. “Pretty fast,” I replied and he gave me the assignment on the spot.

When we came out of his office and met up with Beth, Gideon laughed and said, “I gave her an assignment already.”

“That’s got to be the fastest anyone has ever been assigned a story before,” Beth told me as we walked down the aisles of cubicles at the Globe. Strangely enough, my idea fell through. But I quickly pitched four others and the image you see above is from one of those four which ended up as my first Globe article.

For the full Boston Globe story click here: “Milk storage unit uses sun to keep cool.”

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 3, 2011 12:42 pm

    Lindsey — that’s so exciting! Congratulations. I am always so thrilled to hear what you are up to.

  2. July 3, 2011 12:58 pm

    Yippee Lindsey! You know it takes baby steps to get to that one big step….

Leave a Reply

