Skip to content

Innovate: Project 001

January 4, 2011

I’m revving up for the new year with a jolt of caffeine. My passion for recycling is as strong as ever, especially when it comes to coffee cups. I love bringing my own mug to local shops not just because it’s good for the environment or because it saves money (most stores will give you a 10-25 cent discount), but because of the way it changes how people treat you. I’ve had so many good conversations with people at Starbucks just because I brought in a mug and it became the conversation starter. It’s like walking your dog, all of a sudden people see you in a new light—as the type of person that cares for animals or that cares about the environment, or just cares.

One of my favorite things is to find a container around the house that I can use for my morning coffee runs. Two of them are really simple and cost less than five dollars: a Mason jar and a votive candleholder. If you clean them out they’re great for holding coffee because they’re thick and sturdy. I use the Mason jar for iced tea or hot chocolate on really cold days. And the candleholder is perfect for a double shot of espresso. They fit in my purse and I can take them to my local coffee shop before heading off to work.

No comments yet

Leave a comment